The London Marathon and other achievements

Rest day for me today, but not for many – today saw the 32nd London Marathon, a massive achievement for all who completed it, including many of my friends and colleagues.

There were two in particular I was following, because the marathon marks a particular achievement for one of them.  Sadly I couldn’t be there in person, so I followed their progress via the VLM results page.

What’s interesting is their stats.  The VLM results page tracks runners using microchips, and records their progress in 5k intervals.  Incredibly, for the majority of the track, these two runners managed a speed of between 10.5 and 11k/hr.

11k/hr?!  I can only do 3k at 8.2!

I’m stunned.  To be running that fast for that long is incredible and I have huge respect for them.  They’re not alone – many of today’s runners will have managed those speeds.

So, what do I take from this?  TRAINING!  It’s all about the training.  Better get on it…

This entry was posted in starting out and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The London Marathon and other achievements

  1. Pingback: Ramping it up | Picked Last In Games

Leave a Reply

